Links

9. Creator reviews, approves and downloads results

RNDR is a Two-Sided network of Node-Operators and Creators. In order for the network to function, payments need to be made expediently to node-operators, and creators need mechanisms to ensure they are receiving the requested Rendering work. RNDR has implemented a frame approval system to accelerate job confirmation, reducing payout latency, and providing a dispute mechanism for creators who get failed renders.
Creators are able to review frames as they are rendered with a full watermarked preview. This allows a creator to ensure their renders are properly executed. Additionally, creators have the ability to watch an animated preview, and can control how long each frame is displayed.
As Frames are rendered and after a job has been completed you can individually approve or reject each frame. You can also approve frames in batch sequences. For example, at frame 1000, you can approve all previous frames from 0-1000 in one click. Once a frame is approved, the tokens will be debited and used to pay for the approved frames. Once you have successfully paid for a frame, you can download the frames in your Creator Portal.
You can approve frames individually frame-by-frame or select all frames, or a larger sequence of frames (see graphic). This can happen during or after the job is complete.
Please note that if no approval or rejection of frames or frame sequences is given within 72 hours of Job completion, all frames will be automatically approved.
In some cases, you will need to add RNDR Tokens or currency in order to download the approved frames. See section 6 for more information on adding Tokens or currency to your account.

Automatic Approval

A creator can select ‘Automatic Approval’ in the RNDR Interface allowing rapid batch job submissions and downloads without manual review. Automatic Approval is required for Enterprise Tier rendering jobs.

Frame Rejection

Select the Individual Frame or Sequence of Frames and click Reject. Once a Frame is Rejected, it will automatically be sent to another node on the network to be re-rendered. You will not be charged additional RNDR for this work. However, you will also not be allowed to modify the frame or sequence in any way. Jobs should only be rejected if there was an error processing the frame like black frames, partially rendered frames, or broken frames.
After three failed re-renders, a job will be terminated and a support ticket will be automatically created. A support team member will review the failure and follow up. For support inquiries please contact [email protected]

Cancellation vs Frame Rejection

If, for example, you want to modify the Sample rate or change elements in a scene like the camera, lighting, color etc., please cancel the Job, make the changes and Submit a new Job to be processed. This means it is very important to check a Job prior to rendering.
All correctly processed rendering work will be paid for as the network needs to compensate node-operators for their work in order to be sustainable. See Job Cancellation FAQ’s for more details on cancelling scenes you no longer want rendered.

Frames Automatically Approved After 72 Hours

If no Approval or Rejection of frames is given within 72 Hours after Job completion, all frames will automatically be approved. RNDR is a two-sided network of Node-Operators and Creators, and Node-Operators who have hard infrastructure costs need to receive Tokens in a timely manner so that they are able to maintain operations. For this reason, release of tokens needs to be expedient. With rapid confirmation, Node-Operators are able to more easily use the network, building critical GPU supply that is intended to lower costs and increase availability for Creators.

Adding Tokens or Credits to Download Frames

It is not possible to estimate Job costs with 100% accuracy prior to actually doing the rendering work. Occasionally, there is variance in the rendering work required between frames as things like the camera positioning, lighting, and a host of other factors change from one frame to another. For this reason, the Tokens in the locking smart contract are only a base estimation, and the actual rendering work will occasionally exceed the initial estimation.
When a job exceeds Tokens in the locking smart contract, it will automatically be paused, and a notification will pop up asking you to add Tokens or currency to your account. However, all the frames that are currently in progress will be rendered. Once approved, completed frames can be downloaded. In order to continue a job, you will need to add Tokens or currency to your account and resume the render.

Job Cancellation

Jobs can be cancelled at any point. However, in progress frames will be completed and node-operators will be compensated for this rendering work, with RNDR released from a Creator's wallet for the completed frames. These frames will then be available for download.

Review Process for Approval

By default, you will be shown your Rendered Jobs. Here you will see a small preview of your Job as well as be able to inspect, delete it, download it, or share your Job.
Each column represents a frame in the scene and will be displayed in the preview box. Since this an animated Job we have many columns to choose from but in the case of a still, there will only be a single frame which will be represented by a single column. Sharing and downloading animated Jobs can be done after a job is paid and downloaded.
The last and most important feature of the Jobs page is being able to delete, download, and share your Job. Which are represented by the 3 icons on the right side of your Job.
Creators can delete, download or share a Job. Downloading and Sharing a Job operate similarly. When either function is selected, it will redirect you to another page where you will be able to select the range of frames and output format(s) that you want to download/share.
Once you have done that click on the button below and you will be redirected to a page where you need to approve the work first. If approved, the release of Tokens from the locking smart contract to the nodes is triggered and you are granted access to download the final, watermark free images.
In the case of sharing your Job you will be redirected to this same page but will also have a link that you can give out at the top of the page.
The creator receives preview thumbnails/JPEG images watermarked with an Octane logo and is asked to approve or decline the renders frame-by-frame. Watermark-less downloads will be restricted until after creator approval has been received.
If approved, the release of tokens from the locking smart contract to the nodes is triggered and the creator is granted access to download the final, watermark free images. If declined, the creator does not receive the download and the node-operators whose frames were declined don’t get paid.